Stop Waiting

If I lose 5 more pounds, I’ll look better in a bathing suit.

So I wait to go to the beach.

If I go to the gym in my current state, someone will laugh at my fat.

So I wait until I’m in shape before taking that step.

If I tell someone I love them, they might reject me.

So I keep my feelings to myself.

If I give my opinion, someone might tell me I’m wrong.

So I keep my mouth shut.

If I chase my dreams, I could trip and fall.

So I remain complacent.

If I forgive someone for hurting me, I might show weakness.

So I harden my heart.

If I step up as a leader, people might not follow me.

So I remain in the shadows.

If I just lose weight/whiten my teeth/straighten my hair/buy the perfect outfit/etc, I will love myself more.

So I judge myself harsher than I would anyone else.

BUT…

If I go to the beach today, I will make memories to last a lifetime.

So I will accept my body where it’s at.

If I go to the gym now, I will be one step closer to my goals.

So I will walk through the gym doors.

If I tell someone I love them, they might return the love or they might not.

So I will take the risk because it is worth it.

If I voice my opinion, people will understand what I’m thinking.

So I’ll speak up.

If I chase my dreams, I can achieve great things.

So I will jump off the cliff and spread my wings.

If I forgive someone, it’s for me, not them.

So I will lighten my burdens.

If I lead while serving others, people will follow.

So I will lead with sincerity and an open heart.

If I just accept myself as I am, I will find peace.

So I will love myself unconditionally.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anna
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 11:18:36

    what a fantastic piece. Thank you for stepping into the Arena!

    Reply

  2. Karen
    Apr 07, 2015 @ 23:17:47

    This is absolutely beautiful! Thank you for sharing your inspirational heart with us :).

    Reply

  3. Tiffany Powell
    Apr 09, 2015 @ 23:20:02

    Perfectly perfect Amykins! ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

