Now Taking Applications

While I love my family and know they will always support and stand by me, I’m firing them all from my partner approval committee. Honestly, they stink at the job. Want proof? I married a gay guy and dated a sociopath. Seriously, no one saw either of those coming? So I’m taking applications for the “make sure this guy is good enough (and straight enough)for Amy” committee. I won’t be ready to date for a while, but thought we should start this process now. My only strict requirement is that you have accurate gaydar and a low tolerance bullshit meter. Any takers?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Robyn Crawford
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:06:12

    Oh my…gaydar is strong with the force on this side! Usually good at spotting the jerks too-it’s why I’m still single living with forty cats. Ok, not forty, thirty-nine (don’t want to exaggerate). Anyway I got your back!

    Reply

    • amydfab
      Aug 29, 2013 @ 04:33:19

      Thanks Robyn! It’s handy to have someone local on the committee. And there are worse things than being single with lots of lovely pets. 🙂 I’ve only got one crazy mutt and she makes me happy.

      Reply

  2. Tyler C. Tuszynski
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:12:40

    To be fair … I didn’t know he was gay either.

    Reply

  3. Michelle L.
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 01:05:39

    Since my husband is 26 years older than me, none of my friends trust my judgement on guys. And most of them think my husband is a jerk (because in true Green Beret fashion, he can come across as “standoffish” with people). So I don’t think I’d be qualified for the job.

    Especially since if the natural order works out and my husband goes before me, my plans are to spend my remaining years as the crazy cat lady. 🙂

    Reply

    • amydfab
      Aug 29, 2013 @ 04:35:31

      Hey Michelle, My friend Megan is married to a significantly older man and it was a great reminder that love is love no matter the age. I love the way he adores her and her him. 🙂 I have a few years, but when my future partner and my best friend’s husband kick it, we plan on being crazy roommates again and having lots of sweet dogs. I’m looking forward to it.

      Reply

      • Michelle L.
        Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:43:08

        Amy, I feel relieved to find out I’m not the only non-Hollywood woman married to an older man. 🙂 My husband and I adore each other as well, and I can’t imagine my life without him! (If you tell me your friend Megan had a pirate wedding too, I’m going to be a little wigged…)

  4. Denise C.
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 05:30:50

    I’d put in an app in a heartbeat if I lived near you. 😦

    Reply

    • Denise C.
      Aug 29, 2013 @ 05:31:59

      But, as a side note let me know the next one’s name and a bit of info and I’ll do my Private Eye thing and send you everything I can find on him. Kind of a side business for friends.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

