I’m a loser baby…

“Thank you for applying for FISHERIES & WILDLIFE BIO SCIENTIST II with the FWC – Fish&Wildlife Cons Comm.  After careful consideration, the agency selected a candidate whose overall experience, knowledge, skills and abilities best match the duties and responsibilities of the position.”

Yep, that’s what I had waiting in my inbox when I woke up this morning. Now I’ve gotten other rejection letters, but this one hit me hard. First of all, that second sentence seems overly cruel and unnecessary.

I have a Master’s degree in Fisheries and over a decade of working with some of the best freshwater biologists in the country. Really? You found someone with better experience, skills, and abilities that wants to work as a Scientist II? That’s not even the team’s lead biologist. I understand I haven’t worked directly in science for a while, but I still find it hard to believe that someone could fill that position better. Maybe my ego is too big, but I know that I’m a great biologist with incredible skills for identification and a ridiculous work ethic.

The worst part about the whole thing? This was my fall back job. The job that I would go to when I didn’t get any of the 4-H Youth Leader or Girls on the Run jobs. The job that I’d be a shoo-in for because that’s what I did with my entire adult life before I got married. This was my safe bet. Now all bets our off and I’m scared and pissed. Awww, shit.

Leave a Reply

